SMBT Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre, Nandihills, Nashik: Fees, Seats and Admission
SMBT Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre, Nandihills, Nashik is a private medical college at Dhamangaon in Igatpuri Taluka, Nashik district, Maharashtra. Established in 2014 and affiliated with Maharashtra University of Health Sciences (MUHS), it admits 150 MBBS students each year and also runs ten MD/MS branches with a combined published intake of 43 seats. MBBS admission follows NEET-UG and Maharashtra State Common Entrance Test Cell counselling, with separate 15% institutional and NRI quota fee categories published by the college.
The teaching setting is linked to SMBT Hospital, a 1,200-bed charitable hospital established in 2012. The hospital publishes daily clinical-material figures of 1,670 OPD patients, 138 IPD patients and 127 surgeries. For 2026โ27, the open-category MBBS first-year total shown in the college fee sheet is โน15,49,360 before the separately stated admission-process fee and first-year insurance charge.
Quick Facts
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Institution | SMBT Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre |
| Campus | Dhamangaon (Nandi Hills), Tal. Igatpuri, Dist. Nashik, Maharashtra 422403 |
| Established | 2014 |
| Management and affiliation | Private; affiliated to Maharashtra University of Health Sciences, Nashik |
| Main programmes | MBBS; MD and MS branches listed below |
| MBBS admission route | NEET-UG followed by the Maharashtra State CET Cell counselling route; institutional/NRI routes as applicable |
| Official website | imsrc.smbt.edu.in |
Student Data Snapshot
| Metric | Value | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| MBBS intake | 150 seats | Published sanctioned intake |
| Open-category annual academic fee | โน12,27,500 | MBBS, 2026โ27 |
| Open-category first-year total | โน15,49,360 | Includes published hostel, mess, university eligibility and four deposits; excludes admission-process fee and insurance |
| MBBS duration | 4ยฝ years + 1-year rotating internship | UG programme |
| MBBS internship stipend | โน9,000 per month | College declaration, 2025โ26 |
About
SMBT IMSRC is the medical-education constituent of SMBT Sevabhavi Trust at Nandi Hills, Dhamangaon. The campus is in the hilly, tribal Igatpuri region rather than central Nashik city. Its MBBS college and associated hospital operate from the same wider institutional setting, while MUHS is the affiliating university for the medical programmes.
The instituteโs own course pages identify MBBS and the listed MD/MS specialities. Department pages cover the pre-clinical, para-clinical and clinical subjects required for undergraduate teaching, while a separate PG listing identifies the ten specialty departments with published annual intake.
History & Background
| Year | Milestone |
|---|---|
| 2012 | SMBT Hospital was established. |
| 2014 | The medical college and MBBS programme were established; the published annual intake is 150. |
| 2020 | The ten published MD/MS branches began, with a combined annual intake of 43. |
Academic Environment
The academic setup includes a central skill lab, central research lab, library and a published MBBS academic calendar. MBBS departments listed by the institute include Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Pathology, Microbiology, Community Medicine and Forensic Medicine, followed by the core clinical departments. This gives the first three academic phases a department-based structure before full-time clinical postings.
Students also have named institutional support routes through the student council, grievance-redressal cell, student charter and college committees. The site links to DELNET, Scopus, SWAYAM, National Digital Library and Shodhganga as e-resources, which is useful for literature search and self-directed study.
Why Choose
The clearest reasons to shortlist SMBT are its established 150-seat MBBS intake, a 1,200-bed associated charitable hospital, and a broad published base of clinical departments. The campus also has a central skill lab and research lab rather than limiting learning to lecture rooms. For a Maharashtra applicant, the separate state-category fee rows can materially change the first-year cost compared with the open or institutional quota rates.
The rural-hilly setting is a practical strength for students who prefer an integrated campus and are comfortable living away from Nashikโs urban core. It should be weighed against the same travel consideration before choices are locked in.
Courses Offered, Fee and Intake
| Programme | Branch or specialty | Duration | Annual intake | Annual tuition / academic fee | Admission route and fee year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MBBS | General medical degree; no entry specialisation | 4ยฝ years + 1-year internship | 150 | โน12,27,500 open; category variants below | NEET-UG; 2026โ27 |
| MD | General Medicine / Paediatrics / Anaesthesiology / Radio-diagnosis / Dermatology, Venereology & Leprosy | 3 years | 10 / 4 / 8 / 3 / 2 | 2025โ26 approved academic fee: โน16,34,000; 2026โ27 proposal: โน21,47,848 | NEET-PG; common MD/MS fee record |
| MS | General Surgery / Obstetrics & Gynaecology / Orthopaedics / Ophthalmology / Otorhinolaryngology | 3 years | 5 / 3 / 4 / 2 / 2 | 2025โ26 approved academic fee: โน16,34,000; 2026โ27 proposal: โน21,47,848 | NEET-PG; common MD/MS fee record |
| DM | Cardiology | 3 years | Current intake not stated in the fee notice | โน12,00,000 tuition and development fee | 2025โ26 fee notice |
The MD/MS 2026โ27 document is a fee-computation proposal, not a final branch-wise approved fee notice. It is therefore shown separately from the last approved 2025โ26 academic fee.
Seat Matrix and Quota
| Course or branch | Quota/category | Seats | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| MBBS | Annual sanctioned intake | 150 | College published intake |
| MBBS | Institutional quota | 15% route published in the 2026โ27 fee sheet | A fee category; round vacancies may differ |
| MD/MS | All listed branches | 43 combined | Published branch intakes total 43 |
Admission Process
For MBBS, appear in NEET-UG, obtain eligibility, register on the Maharashtra State CET Cell medical-admissions portal when the counselling schedule opens, complete choice filling, accept an allotted seat, pay the prescribed fee and report with originals. Candidates using a 15% institutional quota or NRI route must follow the applicable institutional-round notice and submit the category-specific documents demanded for that route.
For MD/MS, the institute states that admission is through NEET-PG. A candidate needs an MBBS degree from a recognised medical college, NEET-PG eligibility and the applicable Maharashtra counselling or institutional procedure. DM Cardiology has separate super-speciality fee and stipend records; applicants should use the notified super-speciality admission route for that year.
Eligibility and Documents
For MBBS, the college lists 10+2/equivalent with English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology, plus NEET eligibility. Its course page states 50% PCB for open-category candidates, 40% for constitutional-reservation candidates and 45% for General-PwD candidates. Current national and Maharashtra counselling notifications control the final eligibility and category treatment for a given year.
Keep NEET scorecard, counselling allotment letter, 10th and 12th records, proof of date of birth, identity proof, photographs and fee-payment instruments ready. Caste, validity, non-creamy-layer, EWS, PwD, domicile, NRI or sponsorship documents apply only where the candidateโs route requires them. For PG reporting, add MBBS degree/provisional degree, internship-completion certificate, registration and NEET-PG documents.
Fee Structure
| MBBS quota/category | Annual academic fee | Hostel | Mess | First-year total shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open | โน12,27,500 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน15,49,360 |
| OBC / EWS/EBC | โน6,89,123 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน10,03,683 |
| SBC/NT/VJ | โน1,50,745 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน4,65,305 |
| SC/ST | โน0 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน3,14,560 |
| 15% institutional quota | โน36,82,500 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน40,48,410 |
| 15% NRI quota | โน61,37,500 | โน1,30,680 | โน1,30,680 | โน65,03,410 |
All rows are for MBBS 2026โ27. The displayed total includes the category fee, hostel, mess, applicable university eligibility fee and โน50,000 in one-time refundable deposits: laboratory โน20,000, library โน10,000, gymkhana โน10,000 and caution money โน10,000. The sheet separately states an admission-process fee of โน1,770 and first-year insurance of โน2,125.
Total Budget Planning
| MBBS category | Published first-year total | Admission + insurance | Calculated initial payable | Later-year basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open | โน15,49,360 | โน3,895 | โน15,53,255 | Annual fee, hostel and mess; statutory fees may vary |
| OBC/EWS/EBC | โน10,03,683 | โน3,895 | โน10,07,578 | Same charge-period rule |
| SC/ST | โน3,14,560 | โน3,895 | โน3,18,455 | Same charge-period rule |
The calculation adds the two separately stated charges to the published total. A full-course total is not stated because the fee notice allows revision by the Maharashtra Fees Regulating Authority and university charges can change.
NEET Cutoff
| Year | Route | Round | Quota/category | Rank type | Selected AIR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Maharashtra institutional level | Stray vacancy selection list dated 18 November | 15% institutional quota, OBC | NEET-UG AIR | 518,431 |
This is a single published selection row, not an opening-and-closing cutoff range for every Maharashtra quota or category. It should be read as a historical institutional-stray-round outcome, not an admission prediction.
Teaching Hospital and Clinical Exposure
SMBT Hospital is the attached teaching hospital. The institute gives its establishment year as 2012 and its capacity as 1,200 beds. Its clinical-material sheet records daily averages of 1,670 OPD patients and 138 IPD patients. The same sheet reports 127 total surgeries per day, including 46 major and 81 minor operations.
| Service/measure | Published daily figure | Training relevance |
|---|---|---|
| Radiology | 253 X-rays; 102 USG; 30 echocardiography; 25 CT; 27 MRI | Supports exposure to diagnostic pathways |
| Laboratories | 3,371 pathology; 1,855 biochemistry; 416 microbiology investigations | Links clinical postings with laboratory interpretation |
| Maternity care | 8 births | Relevant to obstetrics and neonatal learning |
MBBS Curriculum and Internship
MBBS follows the national competency-based framework through foundation/pre-clinical learning, para-clinical subjects and clinical rotations. At SMBT, the listed department base covers Anatomy, Physiology and Biochemistry; Pathology, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Community Medicine and Forensic Medicine; and clinical disciplines including Medicine, Surgery, Paediatrics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Orthopaedics, Ophthalmology, ENT, Psychiatry, Dermatology, Respiratory Medicine, Radiodiagnosis, Anaesthesiology and Emergency Medicine.
The programme duration is 4ยฝ academic years followed by a one-year compulsory rotating internship. The collegeโs 2025โ26 declaration places the MBBS intern stipend at โน9,000 per month.
Bond, Internship Stipend and Refund
| Topic | Published position |
|---|---|
| MBBS internship stipend | โน9,000 per month for 2025โ26. |
| MD/MS stipend | โน71,000 / โน72,000 / โน73,000 per month in first / second / third year for 2025โ26. |
| Service bond | A current service-bond amount or duration is not stated in the published fee and stipend records used here. |
| Deposits | MBBS deposits total โน50,000 and are stated to be refundable after course completion. |
| Refund | The institute publishes a UGC fee-refund-policy link; applicable counselling and admission timelines govern an individual withdrawal. |
Campus Facilities
The official infrastructure list includes a library, central skill lab, central research lab, gym and yoga centre, sports and recreation facilities, bank/ATM, shopping complex, photography unit and transport. The central skill lab is particularly relevant before and alongside hospital postings because it gives students a dedicated practical-learning environment. Library-linked e-resources include DELNET, Scopus, SWAYAM, National Digital Library and Shodhganga.
Hostel Facilities
The 2026โ27 MBBS sheet lists hostel at โน1,30,680 per year and mess at โน1,30,680 per year. The current MBBS fee sheet does not specify room occupancy, room category or included services. For the separately published 2025โ26 DM Cardiology sheet, hostel charges are explicitly for double occupancy; that condition should not be assumed for MBBS without the applicable hostel allotment terms.
Faculty, Research and Student Life
The institute publishes department-wise faculty documents across its MBBS departments and maintains research-activity pages from 2017โ18 through 2024โ25. It also hosts JREMEDIS, its institutional journal, with a linked editorial-board page. Academic events are supported through listed CME/conference material and student-facing committees.
Student life is not limited to the hospital environment: the campus lists sports and recreation, gym and yoga facilities, NSS and a student council. The annual event page identifies Aaroh, and the rural Nandi Hills setting creates a campus-based routine rather than an urban day-college format.
Scholarships
The MBBS fee sheet contains category-linked fee treatment rather than a general institutional scholarship list. It specifically states that women candidates in Open/EWS categories with family income below โน8 lakh, and eligible OBC/VJNT/SEBC women candidates with a valid Non-Creamy Layer certificate, need not pay tuition and pay the stated development fee of โน1,50,745 plus other statutory fees. Eligibility documents and the applicable government rules decide whether this concession applies.
Location and Connectivity
The campus address is Dhamangaon (Nandi Hills), Taluka Igatpuri, District Nashik, Maharashtra 422403. It is described by the institute as being in a hilly and tribal area, near the Kadwa and Darna dam landscape. Students planning regular trips should map the exact hostel-to-rail/bus and home route before admission because the campus is not in central Nashik city.
Advantages
โข 150 MBBS seats and ten published MD/MS branches create a defined UG-to-PG academic environment.
โข The associated SMBT Hospital publishes 1,200 beds and substantial daily OPD, IPD, surgery and diagnostic figures.
โข Central skill and research labs, library resources, sports, transport and hostel are listed on the campus infrastructure page.
โข The 2026โ27 MBBS fee notice is category-specific, allowing an applicant to budget using the correct quota rather than a single generic rate.
Limitations
The open-category MBBS outlay is substantial once tuition, accommodation and statutory charges are combined. The institutional and NRI fee categories are much higher. The campusโs Igatpuri location also makes personal connectivity and hostel suitability important decision factors. For MD/MS, the 2026โ27 public document available on the college site is a fee proposal rather than a branch-wise final approval notice, so applicants need the current counselling fee record before payment.
Who Should Choose
This college suits NEET-qualified applicants seeking a private Maharashtra MBBS seat with a large attached charitable hospital and a residential campus. It is especially relevant for candidates whose confirmed category concession makes the published annual fee workable, and for students comfortable studying in the Igatpuri/Nandi Hills setting.
Who Should Consider Other Options
Applicants whose budget is below the open-category first-year requirement, who require an urban Nashik location, or who want a PG speciality outside the published ten MD/MS branches should compare alternatives. A student selecting only on an estimated cutoff should also avoid treating the 2025 institutional-stray selection row as a general state-quota closing rank.
Admission Tips
Enter SMBT only through the counselling route and quota for which you are eligible. Budget from the precise 2026โ27 category row and add โน1,770 admission-process fee plus โน2,125 insurance where applicable. Keep original certificates ready for reporting, and ensure category/concession documents remain valid before you accept a seat. For institutional or NRI rounds, use the individual noticeโs eligibility and reporting time rather than the regular state-round assumptions.
Final Verdict
SMBT IMSRC combines a 150-seat MBBS programme, an established 1,200-bed teaching hospital and a sizeable published clinical workload in a residential Igatpuri setting. It is a realistic option for students who can meet the quota-specific cost and value a campus with skill-lab and hospital exposure. The decision should turn on the applicable fee category, route eligibility and comfort with the Nandi Hills locationโnot on a single historical stray-round AIR.
FAQs
Sources Used
SMBT IMSRC official website | MBBS course page | Sanctioned intake | SMBT Hospital | Infrastructure facilities | MBBS fee structure 2026โ27 | Stipend declaration.